In Colorado, drivers who operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater can be charged with a DUI. If an officer has reasonable suspicion of DUI, then Colorado drivers must consent to chemical testing according to Colorado’s Express Consent Law. Even though DUI laws are similar in every state, it’s important for someone charged with a DUI to consult with a DUI lawyer serving Denver.
Colorado has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21 who are caught driving with a BAC between .02% and .08%. Underage drivers driving impaired will automatically have their licenses revoked. In Colorado, DUI fines can vary from $500 to $1,500 for a first offense. Some people may also face up to a year in jail, so it’s important for anyone charged to consult with a DUI lawyer. Even though the legal limit which can trigger immediate license consequences in Colorado is .08%, drivers caught with a BAC between .05% and .08% can be charged with Driving While Ability Impaired, or DWAI. Even though a DWAI is a less serious charge than DUI, it can still carry harsh penalties. For this reason, it’s crucial to consult with a DUI lawyer whether you are faced with DUI or DWAI.