Our Harassment Defense Lawyer Protects Your Rights
There are two main categories of harassment under Colorado law: employment-related harassment and criminal harassment. If you’ve been accused or arrested for criminal harassment, you could face severe legal penalties that can jeopardize your freedom and your future. The harassment lawyer at Mastro, Barnes & Stazzone, P.C. will thoroughly evaluate your case and develop effective legal strategies designed to produce the best possible outcome for your situation. Our harassment defense lawyer works collaboratively with our clients, ensuring they fully understand the charges against them and are kept informed throughout the criminal justice process.
What Is the Legal Definition of Criminal Harassment in CO?
Colorado’s criminal harassment law is rather complex. Under the letter of the law, a person commits criminal harassment if they carry out any of the following actions with the intent to harass, annoy, or alarm the alleged victim:
- Makes physical contact with the other person, such as by shoving, kicking, striking, or touching
- Follows the person around in a publicly accessible area
- Makes obscene gestures or uses obscene language (directed at the other person)
- Initiates communication, either indirectly or directly, through any means with the other person while using obscene language, harassing, or threatening bodily injury or property damage
- Repeatedly calls the other person with no intention of having a legitimate conversation (e.g. letting the phone ring)
- Repeatedly communicates with the other person in a way that invades their privacy or diminishes their quality of life
- Repeatedly uses offensive or insulting language directed at the other person, such as by insulting or taunting them
The state law defines “obscene language” as any language that references sexual acts or functions.
Understanding the Legal Penalties for Harassment
In most cases, criminal harassment is prosecuted as a class 3 misdemeanor. This is the least severe class of misdemeanors. If convicted, you will face a sentence of up to six months in the local or county jail and/or a fine ranging from $50 to $750.
In certain circumstances, criminal harassment may be prosecuted as a much more serious class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction, a defendant may be sentenced to six to 18 months in jail and/or a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000. Criminal harassment may be upgraded to a class 1 misdemeanor if the prosecutor has reason to believe that the actions were committed because of the alleged victim’s actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, physical or mental disability, or sexual orientation. In other words, criminal harassment is a much more serious crime if it can be labeled a hate crime.
In addition to these legal penalties, people who are convicted of crimes such as harassment face other repercussions. They may lose their jobs, have their professional licenses revoked, and they often face relationship problems, possibly including being served with divorce papers. Although a misdemeanor results in less jail time than a felony, it’s still crucial to contact a harassment lawyer at our law firm promptly to protect yourself.
Request a Consult with Our Harassment Defense Lawyer
At the criminal defense law office of Mastro, Barnes & Stazzone, P.C., we understand that criminal harassment cases involve a great deal of “he said, she said” statements. However, even if you feel that evidence is lacking in your case, it’s imperative to connect with our harassment defense lawyer right away. Your accuser may indeed have some sort of evidence you are unaware of, and even an arrest without a conviction can lead to repercussions for your reputation. Contact our harassment lawyer today to schedule a free consultation. We’re available by phone 24/7.