Marijuana use is legal in Colorado, but just like with drinking, it’s not legal to get behind the wheel when intoxicated. If you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana, you can be charged with a DUI and face all of the same consequences if convicted. If you have failed a marijuana DUI test in Denver and are facing charges, be sure to hire an experienced DUI attorney. Marijuana DUI cases are complex, so it’s essential to work with a lawyer who is familiar with the laws.
DUI stands for driving under the influence. In most cases, DUIs apply to people who are driving after drinking alcohol. In Denver, you can be charged with a DUI when you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. You can be charged with the lesser crime of driving while ability impaired (DWAI) if you have a BAC of between .05 and .08 percent. Now that marijuana is legal in Colorado, more drivers are being charged with a DUI for being under the influence of marijuana while behind the wheel.
You can be charged with a DUI if you are driving with over five nanograms of active THC per milliliter of blood. These charges are difficult to make, however, because marijuana does not affect everyone in the same way; in fact, you can have that level of THC in your blood if you are a regular user, even if you haven’t smoked before driving. That is why having an experienced drug DUI attorney on your case is so important.
Being convicted of drugged driving carries similar penalties to alcohol-related DUIs. For your first offense, the fines can reach $1,000. You may also face five days in jail and lose your license for up to a year. The fines and jail time increase with multiple convictions. Your DUI attorney can help you reduce these penalties and, in certain instances, get your case dismissed.