Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

Although marijuana is legal in Colorado, driving under the influence of marijuana is not. It is also illegal to drive under the influence of illegal or lawfully obtained prescription drugs that substantially impair your ability to drive. A first conviction for driving under the influence of drugs carries a jail sentence of up to 12 months, fines between $600 and $1,000 (in addition to other court costs and mandatory DUI surcharges), and mandatory public service requirements between 48 and 96 hours.

If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs, contact a criminal defense attorney in Denver who specializes in defending people against overblown drug charges. Hiring a DUI attorney can increases your chances of having the charges acquitted or at least a drastically reduced sentence.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Colorado