DUI charges carry significant penalties for all drivers in Colorado. However, being convicted of a DUI when you are under the age of 21 brings additional consequences. Colorado has a zero tolerance rule for anyone under 21 who caught is behind the wheel after drinking. If this happens to you, hire a DUI lawyer near Denver right away to fight for your rights.
Drivers over 21 can be charged with a DUI when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or greater. If they are convicted, they face fines, temporary loss of their license, and potential jail time. Because it is not legal to drink under 21, the rules are different for younger drivers. Anyone under 21 with a BAC of .02 to .08 percent will have their licenses automatically revoked. People under 21 with higher BACs face the same consequences as adult drivers. Your DUI lawyer can fight to have your charges reduced and your license suspension dismissed or shortened. Your DUI attorney can also argue for a deferred judgment or for dismissal of your charges.